Munich/Hannover, 10 February 2012

PRESS REPORT | iF product design award 2012

iF product design award 2012
Textures as a stylistic means of market segmentation: the iF product design award 2012 presented the jury with sophisticated surfaces and tactile highlights.

From a total of 2,923 entries in 16 categories, 863 products passed the jury’s scrutiny and received the iF label as a symbol for outstanding design. 60 of the 863 award-winning products made the top selection by the international experts and received iF gold awards. The gold awards were presented today by iF managing director Ralph Wiegmann at the iF design awards night. The night was hosted by TV presenter Frauke Ludowig who welcomed the winners of the iF design awards 2012 onto the stage at the auditorium at BMW Welt.

According to the jury: “The interplay of different textures, of matt and high-gloss finishes and of tactile and colored surfaces is particularly to the fore this year and serves, primarily, as a means of differentiation in the marketplace.” The experts also noted the increasing prevalence of touchscreens in everyday products.

The Jury

Besides chair Prof. Fritz Frenkler (f/p design GmbH, Munich/Germany), the jury members for the iF product design award 2012 were: Werner Aisslinger (studio aisslinger, Berlin/ Germany), George M. Beylerian (Material ConneXion Inc., New York/USA), Christoph Böninger (Auerberg Design, Munich/Germany), Achim Bölstler (WMF Württembergische Metallwarenfabrik AG, Geislingen/Steige/Germany), Stefan Büscher (Dr. Ing. h.c.F. Porsche AG, Stuttgart/Germany), Hagen Fendler (Huawei Device Co., LTD, Shenzhen/ China), Emanuela Frattini-Magnusson (EFM Design, New York/USA), Prof. Oliver Grabes (BRAUN GmbH, Kronberg im Taunus/Germany), Philippe Grohe (Hansgrohe AG, Schiltach/Germany), Ineke Hans (INEKEHANS/ARNHEM, Arnhem/Netherlands), Sam Hecht (Industrial Facility Sam Hecht & Kim Colin, London/UK), Prof. Achim Heine (Heine/Lenz/Zizka Projekte GmbH, Berlin/Germany), Fred Held (Held+Team, Hamburg/ Germany), Thomas Hirt (ERCO GmbH, Lüdenscheid/Germany), Stephan Hürlemann (Studio Hanneswettstein, Zurich/Switzerland), Low Cheaw Hwei (Philips Design, Singapore/ Singapore), James Irvine (James Irvine S.r.l., Milan/Italy), Ehlén Johansson (MEJK Design co:greenex, Malmö/Sweden), Verena Kloos (Bayerische Motorenwerke AG, Munich/ Germany), Tadashi Koike (Omron Healthcare Co. Ltd., Kyoto/Japan), Michael Lanz (designaffairs, Munich/Germany), Kunpyo Lee (LG Electronics Inc., Seoul/South Korea), Julian A. Lonsdale> A list of award winners and images can be requested at the iF press office by press only:

iF press office
Claudia Neumann Communication GmbH
Silke Gehrmann-Becker, Sandy Karstaedt
Eigelstein 103-113
50668 Cologne
Tel. +49.221.913949-0
Fax +49.221.913949-19



Annegret Wulf-Pippig

Annegret Wulf-Pippig

Press officer

  • +49.511.54224-218
  • Email